Piatt mayoral races to be contested

There will apparently be contested mayoral elections in at least four Piatt County communities this April. Voters in Monticello, Bement, Cisco and Mansfield each have two running for mayor/village president.

Candidates were required to file nominating petitions for the April 9 election by the end of the day Wednesday, Dec. 26.

In Monticello, incumbent mayor Chris Corrie will square off against Joe Brown. In Cisco, village president Paula Chumbley is being challenged by Mitchell Estep Jr. The incumbent in Mansfield, Steve Gaines, is also facing opposition – from Michael Bien.

The election in Bement features two current trustees running for village board president. Pat Tieman and Gerald Manint would like to succeed Mollie Stevens, who elected not to run for a second term.

Bement’s election also features the town’s superintendent of schools Daniel Brue on the ballot for village trustee, where he will face incumbent Bob Stevens Jr. and newcomers Carol Kalk and Judith Good for three available positions.

The ballot for village board trustee in Cerro Gordo is one of the most crowded in the county. Incumbents Dennis Ridgeway and Mike Martin are among those running for three open seats, along with Jeff Bowers, Jerry Morris, Dick Tirpak and Terry Marvin.

Others filing to run for office on the April 9 election include the following. A more complete list will be in next week’s issue. 

Atwood-Hammond School Board
(I = incumbent)
Four-year (vote for 3): Richard Crist (I), Tim Schabel (I), Alan Hingson (I), Allen Romine, Jeff Birch
Two-year (1): Christy Benedict (I), Alora Murphy

Bement School Board
Four-year terms (3) – Joe Wittmer (I), Valerie Stoerger (I), Kyle Rogers (I)

Bement Village Board
President – Patrick A. Tieman, Gerald Manint
Clerk – Kay Lust (I)
Trustees (3) – Daniel Brue, Carol Kalk, Judith Good, Bob Stevens Jr. (I)

Blue Ridge School Board 
Four-Year terms (4) – Dawn Muth, Franci Miller (I), Justin Otto (I), Dion Lathrom
Two-year terms (1) – (none filed)

Cerro Gordo Village Board 
President – Brad Williams (I)
Clerk – Linda Ash (I)
Trustees (3) – Dennis Ridgeway (I), Mike Martin (I), Jeff Bowers, Jerry Morris, Dick Tirpak, Terry Marvin

Cisco Village Board 
President – Paula D. Chumbley (I), Mitchell L. Estep Jr.
Two-year (1)– Gary E. Pirtle (I), 
Four-year (3) – Randy L. Alexander, Michael H. Vorreyer, J. Heath Barrett, Lloyd K. Turner Jr. (I), Sean Bowsher (I); Randy Bennett (I)

DeLand-Weldon School Board 
Four-year terms (3) – Jeff Swartz, Gerald Kanta, Dean Bush (I), Shannon Hayward
Two-year (1) – Missy Duff (I)

Hammond Village Board 
President – Michael A. Chapell
Trustee (3) – Patricia Webb (I)

Mansfield Village Board 
President – Steve Gaines (I), Michael Bien
Four-year terms (3) – Don Deffenbaugh (I), Thomas Hannah (I)
Two-year term (1) – Lucas Gilbert (I)

Monticello City Council
Treasurer – Joanne Hodges (I)
City Clerk – Pamela Harlan (I)
Mayor – Christopher Corrie (I), Joe Brown
Ward I Alderman – Lawrence L. Stoner, Jr.
Ward II Alderman – Wendall Brock
Ward III Alderman – Lyle Murdock, Lisa Shreffler
Ward IV Alderman – Brian Fulton, John Miller

Monticello School Board
Four-year (3) – Chris L. Carr, James J. Coleman, Sarah Ross







The Piatt County Journal-Republican embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments

Event Calendar

Today's Events  |  FAQ
Log in to add an event