All three Piatt County board members whose terms expire next year have opted not to run for reelection.

They will apparently be replaced by a trio who have their share of civic experience.

In District 1, Jerry L. Edwards has filed petitions to be on the March 17, 2020 Republican primary ballot. He is currently the Blue Ridge Township representative on the county zoning board of appeals.

Gail S. Jones has filed for the District 2 opening. Also a Republican, she is a past member of the Monticello city council.

In District 3, longtime Cerro Gordo school board member Todd C. Henricks will also run on the Republican ballot. He has served on the school board for 21 years, including six as its president.

Barring successful write-in candidates, the three will advance to the general election on Nov. 3, 2020.

Opting not to run for another term were current county board members Dale Lattz, Renee Fruendt and Robert Murrell.

The Republican ballot will also see a contested race for state's attorney, with Champaign County Assistant State's Attorney Sarah Perry; and Kelly Griffith, General Counsel for the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board, filing nominating petitions by the Dec. 2 deadline.

Circuit Clerk Seth E. Floyd will also be on the ballot for reelection, also as a Republican.

Judicial vacancy

In the Sixth Judicial Court, current Piatt County State's Attorney Dana Rhoades filed for the March 17 Republican primary for the seat to be vacated by the upcoming retirement of Piatt County Judge Hugh Finson.